Petrichor – Narisshu

PetrichorThe moment I’ve been waiting for quite some time finally arrived. Soma just announced the second album by Simon Stokes aka Petrichor. And the best part: I was so lucky to get to listen to it already.

First of all here is the cover and the tracklist

Petrichor Narisshu Album Cover

  1. San
  2. There
  3. Valdo
  4. After Velvet
  5. 6EQUJ5
  6. Naurisshu
  7. MXT10
  8. blota
  9. Field Dub
  10. Riot Faux Pas
  11. Sapiens
  12. Last

Hardware enthusiast Simon who owns and runs a music school in Glasgow approach to music making is highly refined and over the years he has developed the soulful and unique Petrichor sound that combines House, Techno, Ambient and beyond.

Check out Soma’s Youtube and Soundcloud channel, I’m sure they’ll post teasers / previews of the Narisshu tracks soon.

There’s gonna be a double Vinyl Edition which I’m definitely gonna get :-)

refuge – Lost In Chicago (Acid Frustration) / Movement

Refuge with a new shiny piece of Acid House and Acid Techno including four remixes by valued artists plus one bonus track transporting the classic Chicago Techno style coming along with a new fresh twist. US Westcoast / Germany Colaboration Project.

Feel free to share this post. Your support is much appreciated!

Accentbuster & Mike Volt – Under The Elbe

Accentbuster & Mike Volt in StudioWith this impressive acid techno release, two constant figures of the scoped acid techno scene began their new collaboration project. Mike Volt from Enschede (Netherlands) visited Accentbuster’s house, not only for some sightseeing in Hamburg, but also in his studio. Having a great time together the result of it is also a 4-tracker filled with solid proper and uncompromised acid techno tunes. While been in technoide activity since the early 90s solo and in different combos both – in that spirit – brought their individual parts and influence into these timeless acid techno tracks.

Mike Volt in Fogmountain Studio HamburgStrongly impressed by the Hamburg harbour – the ‘gateway to the world’ – and especially the old elbe tunnel they formed out wavescapes that strongly underline the ambience of being underwater. This comes twisted with the well-known hypnotic and subtle psychedelic effect of two 303 basslines singing together (as they said: ‘one original from the 80s and one with 21st century transistors’). No less than Newcastle-upon-Tyne based Hypnohouse Trax label group from John Rowe decided for the signing, in tradition for numerous impressive hypnotic acid releases, also already by Accentbuster or Mike Volt themselves.

Various Artists – Retrotekt Flavours (HHertzSignal 007)

Release No 007 on Hamburg based Label HHertzSignal will be released soon and is another various artists EP. It features tracks by Diegel & Kallemann, TrRaxxter, Accentbuster, Step Response and last but not least myself Florian Breidebach.

Lots of different artists with different styles and tracks from different decades. I don’t know about the other tracks but “Ruettler” by Accentbuster is from 2002 or 2003 if I’m not mistaken while my track “Schaltschrank” is from just last month. Make sure to check out the previews below.

Feel free to share this post. Your support is much appreciated!

Petrichor – Cloud Chamber EP

PetrichorSimon Stokes aka Petrichor makes a more than welcome return to his home label Soma with the beautifully crafted Cloud Chamber EP. After a series of well received singles and a stunning debut album under his belt at Soma, Petrichor cemented his name within the label’s ranks with his profound and delicate production style. This newest EP continues to see the talented producer go beyond the norm in his approach to his music.

Petrichor Cloud Chamber EP

Title track Cloud Chamber opens the EP in a typically stylistic way. Simon’s clean, grooving drum patterns are joined by ethereal pads that sweep effortlessly into existence, each layer adding is own particular nuance to the track all designed to deliver a unique emotive piece. Keeping the organic, beat driven feel, Rah-Koh delves even deeper. Animated percussive elements provide a background for yet more stirring synth work from Petrichor who uses spacial, dubbed out sections creating a subtle and mesmerising track. Completing the EP, Petrichor reworks the previous track creating Koh-Rah a perfect trip into the ambient stratosphere where he creates an evolving and modulating soundscape built around glistening pads and processed sound fields.

VA – Hypnohigh EP

Did I mention I am the proud owner of one (of only 10) vinyl test pressings of the upcoming release nr 1 on Hypnotech Records? Frank Wirth aka Accentbuster was so kind to hook me up with a copy, thanks for that again by the way!

Hypnotech Records is the new vinyl label by Hypnohouse mastermind John Rowe who already released lots of Accentbuster stuff and our collab EP Destination 313 recently. So here we go with the first release which features John’s track Hypnohigh originally released on Chris Liberator’s Superconductor Records back in 2012. The A2 track is a 2017 re-work by Gendefekt while the b-side features two original tracks. B1 is “Huhh!” by Healium and B2 is “Operation Gladio” by Accentbuster originally released digitally on Hypnohouse Tracks 007 back in 2012.

So here we are some 20 years later than I expected but here we finally have Frank’s first vinyl to be released soon. Congrats my friend! I hadn’t thought it would be an Acid Tune by Accentbuster but as you all know: Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.

Preorder your copy and check out the previews in the vinyl mailorder links below.